“We have stayed at this property 6 times since February 2023 & had been looking forward to spending Christmas there as we had booked it many months beforehand.”
However, our stay at start of December was EXTREMELY disappointing on several levels. The cottage was not as clean as our previous stays and upon our arrival we were extremely disappointed & shocked to see that the recycling bin was absolutely full to the brim, mainly with wine & beer bottles and beer cans. We made the owner aware of this fact & as there was no room for our recycling during our week long stay we were aghast that they did absolutely nothing to help. We have ALWAYS put the bins ...
However, our stay at start of December was EXTREMELY disappointing on several levels. The cottage was not as clean as our previous stays and upon our arrival we were extremely disappointed & shocked to see that the recycling bin was absolutely full to the brim, mainly with wine & beer bottles and beer cans. We made the owner aware of this fact & as there was no room for our recycling during our week long stay we were aghast that they did absolutely nothing to help. We have ALWAYS put the bins out for recycling when we have stayed there but clearly the previous guests had decided not to bother doing so, despite knowing they had disposed of all their alcohol cans and bottles. There is alternate weekly bin collections here ~ one week the black bin for general waste and the following week the blue recycling bin. We had a two week stay during the year and out the black bin out to be emptied one week and the blue bin the other week. We have never received a thank you for doing so from the owners during our 6 stays at the cottage, & yet they did not appear to have a problem with the fact other guests just do not bother and the owner left the full recycling bin after the previous guest had departed, making no attempt to have it emptied for our arrival. As if that was not bad enough, we were appalled to arrive for our Christmas stay on 23rd December and discovered, yet again, the recycling bin was 75% full! This was despite it having happened so recently on our previous stay here. Entirely unacceptable by any reasonable person’s standards or expectations & particularly as everyone knows that during the Christmas period there will be a lot more recycling and general waste than at any other time of the year. There was not even as much as a note from the owners wishing us a Happy Christmas, which is extremely disappointing, particularly given that we have booked 6 different breaks here as we did like the very rural location of the cottage. Also, I had informed the owners we had a lot to do on 23rd December & couldn’t commit to an arrival time, so they were aware it could be late and yet the porch light was not even left on for us, so that my husband was left to scrabble around in the pitch black darkness to try to enter the key code on the keypad in order to enter the cottage. Again, entirely unacceptable and NOT the welcome you imagine for your long awaited Christmas break. However, we have seen how standards have fallen at this cottage during our regular stays and there is quite simply not the same effort being made for guests. As we agreed this was going to be our last ever stay at Slieve Gallion cottage, we decided to book with Sykes for an extra 6 nights in order to draw a line under our time there. I have made the owner aware of everything above but ws extremely disappointed with the entirely unprofessional response which I received. To summarise, I can no longer recommend Slieve Gallion cottage, because based on our recent stays there it is not what it was & standards here have plummeted.
Dear Rita & Gavin,
Thank you for your second review relating to your back-to-back stays over the Christmas period. Can we express once again our sincere apologies for any disappointment you experienced during your two-week stay over Christmas. We are saddened that you feel we fell short of the standards you were expecting from a 4* self-catering accommodation provision.
We thank you for also extending your initial stay and making a back-to-back booking requesting a number of additional nights
We wish for all our guests to have an enjoyable stay and we are sorry that you sensed we had 3 short comings despite the fact that we did go the extra mile to make your stay as pleasant as possible and treated you like friends as well as guests.
We hope we have addressed and clarified the main issues that you found where we had failed to make your stay as comfortable as what you expected and again apologise sincerely for where you felt we fell short of what you expected in “self catering” accommodation.
You had mentioned in your review that we provided “an unprofessional response”, we are sorry that you felt that a polite, brief and justified explanation regarding the bins and the porch light was deemed to be “unprofessional”.
While the cottage was fully decorated (two fully lit Christmas trees, candles, decorations etc) we do apologise that although we did leave generous welcome baskets, the omission of the “Happy Christmas card/note” within them was an oversight on our part and we are sorry that an alternative format i.e. a “text message” with Christmas wishes, was not satisfactory.
We are sorry that the exterior front porch light was not left on for your arrival. We will make amends on this for our future guests.
Although, you state cleaning practices have slipped, we note that you have not provided any specific examples of this, we apologise that you feel that was the case.
During your Christmas stay, we had gladly assisted you in the ways outlined below;
We promptly responded to your request for assistance when your car developed a fault just as you had arrived to the cottage on the Saturday afternoon. We contacted and sourced help to assist you and our local mechanic very generously came out to offer you assistance on both the Saturday evening and Sunday morning. We kept in touch with you checking in with you until your car issue was resolved on Monday.
We gladly supplied you with the extra provisions while you could not get to the shops.
We had to disrupt our guests who were staying at the cottage prior to your booking, to request that they to go outside to bring indoors your Amazon delivery, that unknow to us, you had organised to be delivered to the property the day prior to your arrival.
We requested our cleaning staff to delay cleaning the cottage on the morning of your departure as you had stated quite firmly expressed that you would check out at the time that suited you (as you did not agree with the standard Sykes 10.00 check out time).
We do apologise again that the external blue bin was quite full. This stormy weather in December meant that the bins were not left along side the road side for collection due to the risk of the contents being blown around the grounds of the property/road. We do offer to leave the bins out for collection for all our guests, however many guests wish to have an uninterrupted stay and leave the bins out themselves as it is a very short distance to the front gate. Can we thank you now for taking out the bins on your previous stays.
Again, thank you for your second segment of feedback relating to your Christmas stay.